Complete Story


ISHR Grants 2020 Research Fellowship Recipients

ISHR Grants 2020 Research Fellowship Recipients (alphabetical order)

Dear ISHR members,

I am pleased to announce the recipients of this year’s ISHR Research Fellowships. Congratulations to all recipients for winning this prestigious award and for your contributions to the study of the history of rhetoric.

Julie DAINVILLE - Université libre de Bruxelles
Project Title > La théorie rhétorique dans les sources papyrologiques

Jeffrey DYMOND - University of California - UCLA
Project Title > Ciceronian Rhetoric in Italian Political Thought, c. 1235 - c. 1358

Giulia MALTAGLIATI - University of London
Project Title > Unstable Pasts: the productive flexibility of historical examples in Attic oratory

Lea NICCOLAI- University of Cambridge
Project Title > The Rhetoric of Reason in the Fourth-Century Roman Empire

Arjan NIJK - Leiden University
Project Title > Iconicity in discourse: Phonological and prosodic mimesis in classical rhetoric?

Zachary SHARP - University of Texas
Project Title > Rhetoric, Poetics, and the Devotional Lyric in Early Modern England

Special thanks to the Research Awards Committee for their careful and time-consuming work requiring many difficult decisions:

Ida Gilda Mastrorosa (Italy), chair; James Crosswhite (USA); Marie-Pierre Noël (France) ; Alexander Riehle (Austria); and Violeta Pérez Custodio (Spain).

Best wishes,

Marc van der Poel
President, International Society for the History of Rhetoric

Printer-Friendly Version